Cabot’s Tyler Kurz Honored for Excellence

By National Wrestling Hall of Fame

STILLWATER, Okla. – In celebration of World Wrestling Month, the National Wrestling Hall of Fame & Museum has selected its 2013 state and regional winners of the Dave Schultz High School Excellence Award.

Created in honor of Schultz, an Olympic and world champion, the High School Excellence Award is based on excellence in wrestling, scholastic achievement, citizenship and community service. Forty-nine seniors from those states that sponsor high school state wrestling championships have been chosen for the honor as part of the Hall of Fame’s Educational Outreach Program.

The 2013 Winners by State, Name and School are:

Alabama, Jordan Simpson, Oxford High School

Alaska, Lincoln Johnson, Nikiski High School

Arizona, Dalton Brady, Chandler High School

Arkansas, Tyler Kurz, Cabot High School

California, Isaiah Martinez, Lemoore High School

Colorado, Garet Krohn, Arvada High School

Connecticut, Elliot Antler, Xavier High School

Delaware, Alvontae Drummond, Milford High School

Florida, Kevin Norstrem, Brandon High School

Georgia, Tyler Askey, Northgate High School

Hawaii, Dane Pestano, Kamehameha-Kapalama High School

Idaho, Jared Johnshoy, Melba Jr/Sr High School

Illinois, Ricky Robertson, Carl Sandburg High School

Indiana, Mitch Sliga, Fishers High School

Iowa, Brandon Sorensen, Denver High School

Kansas, Nathan Butler, Leavenworth High School

LR Central’s Tyler Mann named Arkansas Wrestler of the Year by WIN Magazine

Mann Finishes Strong at FILA Nationals; Named Arkansas Wrestler of the Year

It’s been a year to remember for LR Central’s Tyler Mann. The Arkansas wrestler placed 6th in the prestigious 2013 FILA Cadet National Freestyle Championships this past weekend in Akron, OH while competing in the 69kg weight class. The top 6 in each weight class were awarded medals and earned points toward a Future Olympic rankings, the winner earning a spot on the World team.

Mann was also named Arkansas Wrestler of the Year by WIN magazine. The LR Central Jr. won his third 6-7A state title, finishing 36-0 and pinning his way to the title with four first-period pins for the second consecutive year. For the third straight year, a member of the Mann family takes the magazine’s honor. Tyler was the choice last year, and his older brother, Tanner, was picked in 2011.

Hazen High School becomes the 62nd Arkansas High School to add High School Wrestling

Hazen Superintendent Matt Donaghy, and Athletic Director/Head Coach Joe Besancon announced that they will be adding High School Wrestling to the 2013-2014 school year. The Arkansas Wrestling Association will provide their wrestling mat and Hazen High School will provide their kids more opportunity. Congratulations to the leadership of Hazen High School for giving them a chance to wrestle.